This will allow users to expose their shared items only to a limited number of accounts they choose. So, a user will basically be able to pre-approve his followers.
This has now been released. If you go to your settings, you can choose to protect your shared items. If selected, you must approve all new follow requests, and your shared items will not be available to anyone except your followers.
If you “like” a post, your name may still appear on the post for all users.
Well, its been almost two years, any updates on this?
Yup, I just signed up and cancelled with minutes after seeing "Notify by email when someone starts following you" in the settings. It wasn't asking "if" I'd allow someone to follow, rather it was telling me that my stuff would be out there regardless of my desires. No, no it won't.
This feature, or lack of, means that I'm now looking for a new Google reader replacement. There is no way that I'll be able to use this professionally knowing that my shared items are visible to the world.
Oh well, never mind.
Agreed! Give the ability for public or shared - is there a timeline for this?
Kurt Kraut commented
Privacy here is quite difficult to understand. Are people able to see the feeds I follow? This is my main concern. For instance, I belive some jerk coworker will annoy me because I read the feed from our rival company.
Massimiliano Ferrari commented
It would be nice to have a "private-star" feature.
I don't always want to share everything, sometime I just want to "mark" a post as useful, and keep this information for me, so I can find it back whenever I need it.
Maybe this "private account" function can do something like that.
Eric Ferza commented
Definitely! And with private tag sharing!
I also would like to see this implemented, as well as the ability to hide other people's comments.
I'm not really interesting in sharing my rss feeds.